1/8 Offroad News

AVID RC8B3 & MBX7 FastTune camber shims

Made for both Team Associated RC8B3 and Mugen MBX7 are the AVID FastTune camber shims. The FastTune camber shims are made from Aluminum 6065-T6 anodized in black and designed to allow you to easily adjust your camber on popular pillow ball designs without having to fully unthread them. The tab feature helps you keep them in place as you tighten down the pillow ball. Don’t get caught up in all the complicated sizes AE has introduced, 0.5 and 1.0mm shims have been working for Mugen since the dawn of time. Also fits to other cars with 6mm threaded pillow balls.


More photos here

Aleš Bidovský doubles at RCHobby Grand Prix


This past weekend was held the RCHobby Grand Prix in Czech Republic. In nitro buggy it was XRAY driver Aleš Bidovský who took the overall TQ and after some changes to the set-up, he was able to win in front of Fillip Rajdus in second and his teammate Martin Rytíř in third.

Continue reading here

LRP lost Sanwa distribution

See: Sanwa

Sanwa have announced that their distribution contract with LRP expired on June 30, 2017. Based on Sanwa’s list of distributors, LRP would have been replaced by HOECO for the Germany, Austria and Switzerland distribution. Nevertheless, LRP have announced that they were able to stabilize their sales during the preliminary insolvency proceedings and in addition, they have implemented further restructuring measures, in particular personnel adjustments. This information was confirmed by LRP General Manager Jürgen E. Lautenbach who also added:

Continue reading here

Bradley Baird crowned Irish National Champion

The Irish 1/8th scale off road Championship took a trip North to Derry last weekend for round 4 of the series. This was the Derry clubs first time to host the National series and the drivers were treated to a well prepare track and venue for the weekend. The layout was a change from the larger open track giving drivers a taste of a tight technical track which lead to close racing in both nitro and ebuggy. The weather was ideal and the atmosphere among the racers was high. Drivers where improving quickly with each round of practice and qualifying as they fine-tuned setups and confirmed the best tire choice for the conditions. Race control manned by David and Gary kept watch over the track and the drivers making sure the event was running on time.

Continue reading here

Robin Ilus sweeps Baltic Cup

The Baltic Cup was held at the Limbazi track in Latvia over the weekend. Many drivers attended the Cup from many countries such as Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland and Belarus. In qualifying TLR’s Robin Ilus managed to took the overall TQ and also from the semi he pumped up to the first starting position. The night before final there was a massive thunderstorm so the track changed a lot. In the 45 minute final Robin managed to find a good pace and won by a lap from XRAY driver Karl Kasekamp in second and Karl’s teammate Hendrik Lainemäe in third.

Final results here

AVID gold & silver Triad wing buttons

AVID have added two new colors to their Triad Wing Buttons, Gold and Silver. The Gold is a reflective anodizing process that looks more like plating. Triad wing buttons were designed after the success of the 8th and 10th scale lineup. Coming in at 0.3g each (half the weight of our current 10th button), they are easily the lightest metal button on the market.


Continue reading here

FX low profile engine heads

See: FX Royal Racing Engines

FX have introduced three new low profile engine heads. CNC-machined from Swiss 7075 T6 and additionally black-coated and laser-engraved for a stylish look, the cooling heads feature additionally drilled holes from the bottom to reduce the weight. The recessed contact area on the underside of the cooling heads – where the combustion chamber insert fits – has had the color coating machined away to allow for the optimal heat transfer. Low-profile engine heads are available in three different sizes for various temperatures. With a lower weight than the standard engine head, they give a lower CG to make the car more stable on fast tracks.

Continue reading here

Adam Drake talks about B2101’s carburetor settings

Mugen Seiki Racing’s Adam Drake have released another video tutorial showing us carburetor settings for the O.S. Speed B2101 engine.

Watch the video